Governing Body

The WFIS Governing Body is a team of volunteers who come from all sections of the school community, working together and in partnership with the Headteacher to provide strong leadership and management of the school. The Headteacher is responsible for the day to day management of the school, but the Governing Body is responsible for setting the school aims and policies, monitoring children's progress, and supporting and challenging the Headteacher and staff, to ensure that children receive the best possible education.

We meet as a full Governing Body five to six times a year, but because of our wide ranging responsibilities, some of our decision making is carried out by committees. We have two committees which meet three times a year: the Resource Committee and the Learning & Teaching Committee. Each Governor sits on one or other of these committees and they each have defined terms of reference, reporting back or making recommendations to the next scheduled meeting of all the Governors.

    • For information about becoming a school governor, please click here
    • Please contact the school office for details of this year's calendar of meetings

    Meet our Governor team


    Governing Body, at July 2017

    Nicole Crompton - Chair and Chair of Learning & Teaching Committee; member of Resource Committee; Co-opted Governor (30/04/15 - 29/04/19)  

    Patricia Rice - Vice-Chair; Chair of Resource Committee; member of Learning & Teaching Committee; Co-opted Governor (30/04/15 - 29/04/19)

    Hanna Link - Parent Governor Wirksworth Infant School; member of Resource Committee (18/11/13 - 17/11/17)

    Susan Todd - Foundation Governor; member of  Learning & Teaching Committee (22/10/13 - 21/10/17)

    Lucy Williams-Hunter - Foundation Governor; member of Learning & Teaching Committee (22/10/13 - 21/10/17)

    David Miller - Local Authority Governor; member of Resource Committee (13/10/16 - 12/10/20)

    David (Sam) Salt - Co-opted Governor; member of Resource Committee (01/11/16 - 31/10/20)

    Kathryn Bean - Co-opted Governor; member of Learning & Teaching Committee  (13/10/16 - 12/10/20)

    Sarah Waller - Staff Governor; member of Learning & Teaching Committee 

    (09/05/14 - 08/05/18)

    Marlene Reddish - Co-opted Governor; member of Learning & Teaching Committee 

    Charlotte Collis - Parent Governor

    Joanne Poyser - Headteacher; member of Resource and Learning & Teaching Committees

    Betty Brown is Clerk to the governing body.



    Parent Governors are elected by parents at each of our schools. We currently have one Parent Governor vacancy.

    Foundation Governors for Wirksworth Church of England Infant School are appointed by the Rector of St Mary’s Church in Wirksworth.

    Local Authority Governors are nominated by the Local Education Authority.

    Co-opted Governors are appointed by the governing body and are people who have the skills required to contribute to the effective governance of the school. We currently have one Co-opted Governor vacancy.

    Staff Governors are elected by the teaching and non-teaching staff of our schools, and the Headteacher is automatically a member of the Governing Body.

    Clerk to Governors, although not a governor, the clerk is very important, advising the governing body on matters of law and procedure.

    If you would like to find out more about the work of the governing body, please contact the Chair of Governors through the school office.


    Governor Register of Interests

    To find out more about our governors, who appointed them, their attendance at meetings, business interests and positions of responsibility, please click here.



    Resource Committee

    To consider matters relating to:

    • Finance
    • People
    • Health and Safety
    • Premises
    • Marketing
    • Extended Services

    Chair:  Patricia Rice


    Hanna Link

    Joanne Poyser

    David Miller

    David (Sam) Salt

    Nicole Crompton

    Learning & Teaching Committee

    To consider matters relating to:

    • Curriculum
    • SEN&D
    • Home / School & Community Links
    • Exclusions / Attendance
    • Home School Agreements

     Chair: Nicole Crompton


    Joanne Poyser

    Patricia Rice

    Sarah Waller

    Lucy Hunter

    Susan Todd

    Kathryn Bean

    Marlene Reddish

    Pay & Performance Management Group


    • Nicole Crompton
    • Susan Todd
    • Kathryn Bean


    School Development Strategy Group


    • Chair of Governors
    • Vice-Chair of Governors
    • Chair of Resource Committee
    • Chair of Learning & Teaching Committee
    • Headteacher 

    Complaints Committee - as required

    Exclusions Committee – as required 

    To download our latest Governor Newsletter, please click here.

    Nicole Crompton - Chair of Governors

    Tricia Rice - Vice-Chair

    Hanna Link - Parent Governor

    Sue Todd - Foundation Governor

    Lucy Hunter - Foundation Governor

    David Miller - Local Authority Governor

    Sam Salt - Co-opted Governor

    Kathryn Bean - Co-opted Governor

    Sarah Waller - Staff Governor

    Marlene Reddish - Co-opted Governor

    Charlotte Collis - Parent Governor

    Jo Poyser - Headteacher

    Betty Brown - Clerk to Governors

    (she’s in there somewhere...!)